Jack Vogt Award Nominations for 2017

Dear Local Government Budget Professionals:

I’m writing to announce and encourage nominations for the 2017 A. John “Jack” Vogt Award for Outstanding Commitment to the Advancement of Local Government Budgeting and Evaluation.  This career award is the highest annual award presented by the North Carolina Local Government Budget Association (NCLGBA) to recognize individuals who have served during their careers as innovators and leaders who advancing budget and/or evaluation practices in North Carolina local government.  In 2006, Dr. Jack Vogt became the first recipient of the award to honor his thirty-four year legacy as an innovator, teacher, mentor, and consummate student of local government budgeting and evaluation.

Nominees must have a minimum of ten years of local government service in North Carolina.  “Government service” is defined broadly as any profession that works in or with municipal, county, or other local government jurisdictions.  Examples include budget/finance professionals, city/county managers, elected officials, academics, and local government financial consultants.

Nomination applications and a list of previous award winners can be accessed on the NCLGBA’s website. Completed nomination applications should be submitted via email to vogtaward@nclgba.org by 11:59pm Friday, November 17, 2017.  A committee from the NCLGBA will review the submissions and present the award at the 2017 Winter Budget Conference on Thursday, December 14th during the Thursday luncheon held in Durham, NC at the Washington Duke Inn.  If you have any questions about the nomination form or process, please feel free to contact me at jamos@charlottenc.gov or (704) 336-5022.

North Carolina has a strong, national reputation as a leader in local government budgeting and evaluation.  I hope you will take this opportunity to recognize those who’ve earned us this reputation and charted new paths for all of us to emulate.

I look forward to reading this year’s nominations!

Thank you,

Justin Amos
2017-2018 President, NCLGBA